Plenary Speakers

Kenneth Holmberg


2016/11/24 12:09:12
Lecture Title:
Influence of tribology on global energy consumption, costs and emissions
Kenneth Holmberg, Dr Tech, is Research Professor in tribology, condition monitoring and operational reliability at the VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. He is the author and editor of several books and he has given 46 invited keynote lectures at international conferences. He has published more than 200 scientific papers mainly in areas of tribology, surface engineering, lubrication, computational material modelling and simulation, operational reliability, maintenance and diagnostics. He is vice president of the International Tribology Council. He was president of the OECD IRG Wear group 1992-2006 and chairman of the European COST 516&532 TRIBOLOGY joint research actions 1995-2008. He is Chief Engineer Councillor at the Supreme Administrative Court of Finland and a frequently used expert in the European Community and European Science Foundation research actions and programmes. He is in the editorial board of 10 scientific journals and he has been responsible for organising major international conferences in tribology, monitoring and diagnostics e.g. EUROTRIB’89, COMADEM’97 and NORDTRIB′00 & 16. He is member of the Board of Directors at the Taiho Kogyo Tribology Research Foundation (Japan), member of the Steering Committee of the Leonardo Centre of Tribology and Surface Technology at the Sheffield University (UK), member of the Programme Committee for Materials Research at the Foundation of Strategic Research (Sweden), member of the Programme Committee for Strategic Materials Research at FIMECC (Finland), and a frequently used consultant for industrial contracts and R&D projects. At VTT he is presently coordinating the strategic computational materials modelling and simulation research.
Important Dates
Deadline for abstract submission
November 30, 2016
December 31, 2016

Notification of acceptance
February 15, 2017

Deadline for final extended abstract submission
May 20, 2017
June 20, 2017
July 20, 2017

Deadline for early registration
April 30, 2017
May 17, 2017