Plenary Speakers

Jacob Klein


2016/11/24 12:09:39
Lecture Title:
Biolubrication: beyond tribology
Jacob Klein, born in 1949, is the Herman Mark Professor of Polymer Physics at the Weizmann Institute in Israel.
Klein gained his BA in Physics at the University of Cambridge, where in 1977 he also received his M.A. and PhD at the Cavendish Laboratory. He did his postdoc at the Weizmann Institute in Israel, and from 1980-1984 was a Senior Scientist at the Weizmann Institute and a University Demonstrator at the Cavendish Laboratory. In 1984 he was appointed Professor at the Weizmann Institute (full Professor from 1987), and subsequently headed its Polymer Research department and was Chairman of its Scientific Council. From 2000-2007 Klein was the Dr. Lee’s Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oxford and Head of its Physical and Theoretical Chemistry Laboratory (2000-2005). His interests in soft matter have ranged from the dynamics and interfacial properties of polymers to the behaviour of confined fluids and biological lubrication, and, more recently, tissue engineering. Klein has published over 230 papers, including over 20 in Science and Nature. His work has been cited some 10,000 times, with an H-factor 53. His honours include the Charles Vernon Boys Prize of the Institute of Physics, UK (1984), the High Polymer Physics Prize of the American Physical Society (1995), the 2010 Prize of the Israel Chemical Society and the 2011 Soft Matter and Biophysical Chemistry Award of the UK Royal Society of Chemistry and the 2012 Tribology Gold Medal. In 2009, he received an ERC Advanced Grant. In 2013 he was elected to the European Academy.
Important Dates
Deadline for abstract submission
November 30, 2016
December 31, 2016

Notification of acceptance
February 15, 2017

Deadline for final extended abstract submission
May 20, 2017
June 20, 2017
July 20, 2017

Deadline for early registration
April 30, 2017
May 17, 2017